Guilty Pleasures: In Defense of Sitcom Re-runs

If you’re anything like me (God help you) there are some shows you just cannot get sick of. Friends is a perfect example. I have to have seen every episode at least once. Most of them several times. Yet when I see it on TBS, I cannot look away. There’s something very comforting about these old episodes. Almost like watching old memories from high school or college.

Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. The reruns all become our history.

Another favorite of mine is Gilmore Girls. Honestly, I consider this show my TV equivalent of comfort food. You know how you have that culinary panacea from your childhood? What were you fed when you got sick? For me it was ginger ale and animal crackers. For some people it’s chicken soup.

Well, this show instantly makes me feel all comfy and warm and happy. It’s my entertainment chicken soup. It’s funny, it’s witty, it has enough drama in it to catch your heart every once in a while. And the dynamic between the two main characters reminds me a lot of the dynamic I had with my own mother. That’s probably the reason I associate it with comfort.

I suppose being able to watch an episode of a show over and over somewhat equates with my ability to listen to one CD or even song repeatedly until I drive those around me crazy. Who knows. But I’m not the only one. And I’m not apologizing.

1 Comment

Filed under Sight

One response to “Guilty Pleasures: In Defense of Sitcom Re-runs

  1. leigh*

    definitely not the only one! πŸ™‚

    thank god for comfort tv…life wouldn’t be the same without it…

Leave a Reply

