A Sun-Drenched Life

My tiny house – everyone says that, but I seriously mean itty bitty – has an even tinier kitchen, which judging by the exposed pipes, tubes, and wires upon moving in, once also housed a washer and dryer.

From what I could tell, there was a spot for a washer ONLY, and for months I tried to solve the mystery of how it all once fit. Was it a stackable unit, which someone later prohibited by building the shelves that are there now? (If so, thanks a lot.) Was the dryer installed IN FRONT of the kitchen doorway (where the hookup seems to be) causing prior inhabitants to leap over it upon entering? Honestly, I can only think that someone once kept a dryer on the back stoop.

Up to this point, we had been surviving on a combination of laundromats, friends’ washers and dryers, and hand washing our clothes – none of these the most accessible options, especially for those few months we were car-less. When you think of the slightly lazy taurean mindset the boy and I were born with, you could see how the mounds of laundry were about to overtake the house.

So, after nearly an entire year without a laundry room, I broke down and posted a cry for help under the “wanted” section of Craigslist.org.

In my humble abode, I have room for a washer but no dryer, and am having a hell of a time finding someone willing to split up a pair. I’m on a budget, and do not need anything new – I just need something that works. This is your perfect chance to get rid of that old eye sore – I can even pick up! Help!

Within an hour or so, I had 10 responses in my email box of people dying to practically give away their old washers so they could get new ones. Gotta love Craigslist.

I also had a response from someone looking for a dryer and asking if I found one if I didn’t mind delivering it to their house when I picked up my washer.

Yeah, um, no. But thanks.

So after a trek to procure our new appliance – including two flights of stairs and a borrowed hand truck – we got the brand new (old) washer hooked up snugly between my stove and refrigerator. I’m happy to say it works great and even created a little counter space, which was until now, non-existent.

There’s just one issue with my new set-up. I’m now line-dry girl.

I’ve got a good sized back yard with a privacy fence, so I’m not self conscious of the clothesline way of life. And honestly, with as hot as it’s been here lately, clothes dry in about 10 minutes. Plus, line drying saves more energy than using an electric dryer – not to mention running a dryer in my itsy bitsy house would make it so hot it’s unbearable.

I’m not complaining. There are perks. But I have to say, I went home on my lunch break today and felt as if I’d stepped into a different century. And I had a hell of a time finding the simple supplies one needs to dry their clothes outdoors. Clothespins for example. I had to visit three stores before I found them.

Another century, indeed.

I’m kind of liking it so far, though. I like how my clothes smell after being dried in the sun, and I feel like I’m channeling a prior life when I’m out there barefoot in the grass, drinking up the sunshine. I have to say it’s not bad. Not bad at all.

Then again, ask me after it rains.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, the Universe, and Everything, Sight, Smell, Touch

2 responses to “A Sun-Drenched Life

  1. As the (not so) proud owner of a kitchen/laundry room I feel your pain. I do have room for both washer and dryer – but now I have no room for more than 2 people in the kitchen (And the two must be very close friends). I love people who complain about needing more space in their 2,000 sq. ft houses.

    Seriously, the gall of the “can you pick me up a dryer on your way?” craigslister! Wow.

  2. Passante

    I have a washer and dryer but use the dryer for towels and sheets only. I live in a 7th floor condo and am not allowed to put a clothes rack on the balcony (reasonably enough — other residents don’t want to find migrated underwear on their own balconies) so I put the rack in the bathtub in the guest bathroom. Unfortunately I don’t get that lovely fresh dried-outdoors smell, and jeans are a bit stiff because they don’t get blown about to soften them — but I can live with that for the energy saving.

    I grew up without a dryer in the clothes line-dry world of England, where it rains a lot. That’s when you start draping everything around on the radiators!

Leave a Reply

